Walking for a good cause

On Sunday morning, I walked five miles for a good cause. And no, the good cause was not shedding some highly detested kilos I have picked up over the past two years, although that would be a very happy side-effect indeed. The cause I am talking about was a walkathon arranged by the HELP Foundation at Bear Mountain State Park in New York. You can read more about the foundation and the great work they do for orphan children in India here.

My friend from office, whom I have mentioned many times on this blog before, told me about the walkathon. ‘Would I like to come?’, she asked. ‘Sure!’, I said. Apart from the satisfaction of doing something worthwhile, my ulterior motive was to get to know new people. The husband and I are fairly new to this place, and we have no family or close friends here. All our neighbors are American and the only interaction we have with them is a friendly ‘hi’ when we come across each other. As a result, the only people we socialize with are the office folks and even there, some of them are not very social, with some others our wavelengths don’t match and so on. I am pretty close to this new office friend and like the wife of another colleague, but that’s about it.

So when my friend told me about the walkathon, I thought it would be a good opportunity to mix with some more Indian folks and hopefully I’d meet somebody I’d like. And things went right according to plan. I met a very lively chatterbox kind of girl (my friend’s neighbor) and the three of us had a great time walking together and chatting. We had so much fun that we never realized when the five miles were up. The three of us have made plans to meet again for lunch or a movie. I am looking forward to it!

4 responses to “Walking for a good cause

  1. Hey, same here, I wish so too. You live in Delhi na? I must make a trip there when we finally get back to India.

    I have always wanted to see Delhi in detail, but never got a chance. Have heard so much about the food and the shopping and the historical sites… will you take me around? Then we can walk and talk all day long! 🙂

Leave a Reply

