Did you know…

.. when you roll down the car windows the morning after a snowstorm, for a disbelieving moment you actually wonder if the window pane’s split into two, one part dutifully rolling down while the other stays merrily in place, mocking you with its resoluteness? And what fun it is to knock down the truant ice layer in a single blow afterwards, pretending you are a karate pro knocking down a thick sheet of glass!

Visitors to these parts carefully time their visits for late spring, summer or early fall. And I’m usually the one urging everyone to avoid coming here in winter. But inconsistency personified that I am, I sometimes pity them too – surely the poor souls don’t know what they are missing! I remember the tourist guide in Manali looking askance at the boisterous summer crowds around us and urging us to visit again in winter, ‘Barf ke mausam mein idhar aakar dekho madam, uska maza hi kuch alag hain’. How true, indeed!

Snuggling under the bed covers on a freezing winter morning and begging for two more minutes of sleep, waking up to find the dull greens and browns of the previous day swathed in a gleaming sea of white, the absolute silence characteristic of a morning-after-the-snowstorm winter morning, the pitter-patter of freezing rain and hail on the sun-roof of your home, the brook outside overflowing with crystal-clear and icy-cold water, impromptu snowman-making sessions in the evening interrupted by giggling bouts of snow-hurling fights, rushing to enter the warm coziness of home after the freezing temperatues outside, sharing a cup of hot chocolate looking out at the snowflakes dancing all around you, snow boughs falling down a tree and scaring two already-scared occupants of a car, waving and smiling at neighbors struggling to clear snow off their car and a kind soul offering to help two clueless desis desperately trying to extricate their car from the wintry mess piled up around it when their turn comes to head for office…

How do I explain these pleasures to all those who tsk tsk at the thought of a winter snowstorm in New England?

P.S. What about you dear readers? Do you love or hate winters in cold climates? I’d love to hear about it from you!

11 responses to “Did you know…

  1. Thanks for visiting my blog and commenting. Lovely post. I agree, the black and white winter landscape has a beauty of its own.

    I love the beautiful banner, btw 🙂

  2. I LOVE WINTER ! Actually when I first got here, people scared me a lot about the winter and cold and snowstorms and what not….but all the while I, thankfully, looked forward to all of it and more 🙂

    I absolutely loved the first snow showers here….literally ran out and jumped in joy and giggled like a small kid :-)) With all the snow accumulating in the weeks that came, there was no stopping all the fun of throwing snowballs at each other, trying to make something-like-a-snowman, getting dressed in all the layers of clothing….its all a totally different experience, I say, and its all fun !!!

  3. I love it too! One just has to be appropriatele dressed in (1000s of) layers and then it becomes fun going out in the cold 😀

    Done your tag. Come check it out.

  4. Your post reminded me about my college days where the temperature dipped to 0 in winters and rose to 42 in summers. That cozy rajai cover, gloves for hands and socks for feet before going to bed, yellow bulb on to keep the room warm and blowing cold air pretending it to be cigarette smoke. Sigh! What wonderful days. All we missed was the snow factor.

  5. Thanks Lekhni, I loved ALL your posts too and you can be sure I’ll be a regular visitor from now on!

    M (giggle, giggle) – Yes, do write, should be fun. 🙂

    Yeah, I definitely DO NOT like the 1000s of layers though, Ceekay. But who will? I hate being covered up in the same dull coats for three months straight! Makes me feel I might as well go out in my nightie and nobody would know the difference. 😦

    Hey Lavs, my sentiments exactly! I love rajais and got them here from India in my last trip! Now I can snuggle in my soft n warm rajai! 🙂

  6. Loved reading about it although I am happier in warmer climes. I prefer to look at snow etc in pic postcards and the closest I want to be is safely behind the windows in a room suitably heated. 🙂

  7. 🙂 I was like that too Usha – until last year. Opinions probably change when one has no choice? 😉 But seriously, I think it just takes a little getting used to…

  8. Pingback: Winter Joys at Blogbharti

  9. How did I miss this post! I moved up to NJ from warm Texas( okaay! make that hot Texas) last year and nothing can make me like the chilly, clammy, snowy winters here. I can’t believe I used to crib about the 100 degree plus temperatures back there. Now, I’m like, send some of that warmth my way baby:-)

  10. Ummm…I think I’ll take the cold rather than the heat any day. Grass greener on the other side again hmm? 🙂

Leave a Reply

