Sweet Gestures

Those of you who visit desi ‘mommy blogs’ might have noticed something strange happening on Friday – there were funny little riddles popping up everywhere! Not being a mommy blogger myself, I had no idea what was happening and forget cracking the riddles, had no clue what ‘MTB’ could mean! (Yeah, I am kind of slow like that.)

The mystery was finally solved this morning when some kind MTBs (mommies-to-be) posted an explanation and some heartfelt thank-yous on their blogs. Apparently, a group of MAs (mommies-already – my term, not theirs!) got together and decided to hold an online baby shower for their friends. And the riddles on the MA blogs were a sort of treasure hunt, the treasure being the password for the baby shower blog.

How sweet is that! Yours truly from the non-MTB and non-MA category was touched too, although it would be kind of hard to explain if you asked me why! Aside from the sweet gesture though, a fringe benefit for me is that I got to know a lot of new bloggers while following the treasure hunt trail for a while. (You didn’t think the curious cat-me wouldn’t even try, did you? Don’t ask me how far I got though!) So I’ve been blog-hopping like crazy since morning and found my own treasure of wonderful new blogs.

Naturally, the blogroll has been updated as a result. Now I’m not quite sure of the etiquette involved – I started off asking permission at a couple of blogs, but found the idea kind of silly after a while. So if you suddenly found yourself linked from an unknown blog and hopped over here to figure out what the fuss was all about and are still not sure if you’re okay with being linked on my blog, kindly drop me a note, would you? Apologies and thanks, both in advance!

15 responses to “Sweet Gestures

  1. I would love to jump fence AA_Mom, but the admission price is kind of high, isn’t it? 🙂

    Oh well, perhaps I’ll think about it! Lots of pressure coming in from many quarters, as you can imagine!

  2. You are most welcome IHM. You don’t need to thank me actually, I loved your site, which is why I blogrolled you. 🙂

  3. I totally agree with you. The moms rock, isnt it? I appreciate it wholeheartedly 🙂 Way to go, mommy-bloggers !
    I was telling commenting on MMs site asking her not to be surprised if she saw me in their club shortly 😉 I’m getting highly influenced by the mommy-bloggers, I must say 🙂

  4. Hi Devaki,

    That was a sweet gesture wasn’t it 🙂 I’m sure us non MTBs enjoyed as well..

    and thnx for your comments, will be visiting you as well 🙂

  5. Hi Devaki

    Being kind of new to blogging I too dont know of the MTB treasure hunt. It seems like a great idea, and a sweet thing to do. I too worry about the net ettiquette of including people without permission, perhaps I should follow your example here too 😉 Thanks for your comment, I will include you in my blog roll too. Can I ? 🙂

  6. Thanks for adding me! I am honoured!

    I saw your note on the sabudana khichdi….my trick is to rinse off the sabudanas first and then keep the water on par with the sabudana. It makes them nice and fluffy.

    Hope that helps. Have a great Sunday.

    Cheers,
    trupti

  7. Yeah, this is turning out to be a fun weekend. Only for me though, the husband is all grumpy to find me glued onto the blogosphere on a weekend! 😉

    Glad you liked the header M, it’s one of my favorite pictures clicked by the husband in Shimla.

Leave a Reply

