The Best Laid Plans…!

I was very excited about last weekend for some reason. Most weekends just come and go, it seems to me, but this one would be different, I decided. I wanted to Make The Most of our time this weekend and for that I needed A Plan, I realized!

So I took a few minutes off after lunch on Thursday afternoon for a Brainstorming Session with myself. This process calls for a free flow of thoughts, I had heard, so I proceeded to jot down whatever harebrained idea came into my mind. The next step was Evaluation And Analysis, where I had to basically sift through my ideas. Now this was easier said than done. I had no clue my mind was capable of such wild thoughts when given a free rein – we obviously could not go snow-mobiling on an August weekend, unless we made a weekend trip to Alaska of course.

Sadly, half my list was pared down at this stage. Never mind, that just made the next step, Setting My Priorities, so much easier, I consoled myself. So was vacuuming the house more important than finally catching the new movie the whole world and its granny had seen except for the husband and me? Surely not! (This decision was quite easy to make when I remembered the movie was three weeks old – the vacuuming had only been pending for two weeks now, you see.)

Finally, I had to plan for Stakeholder Involvement – it looked like it was time to involve the husband in my grand plan for our weekend. This was the most crucial part of my project, I knew, so some Risk Management was called for here. Perhaps I had been a tad hasty in my planning, ignoring the husband’s interests a bit too conspicuously? A short hike on Sunday evening should be a sufficiently attractive incentive to Engage My Stakeholder, I decided, and added the hike to my list.

So finally, the list I emailed to the husband looked something like this.

Chores List 😦

  • Friday evening – Drop the rent cheque
  • Friday evening – Groceries (Milk, cereal, potatoes blah blah blah)
  • Saturday afternoon – Return the library books
  • Saturday afternoon – Indian groceries (Idli/Dosa batter, mirchi blah blah blah)

Fun List πŸ™‚

  • Friday evening – Romantic walk at a local Lake Park
  • Friday night – Watch Jaane Tu Ya Jaane Na
  • Saturday evening – Swim
  • Sunday afternoon – Stuff oneself to the point of bursting at the buffet lunch in the local Indian restaurant
  • Sunday afternoon – Mountain hike to burn up all the calories accumulated during the buffet lunch and hopefully some more

Monday morning, I came into the office, wondering, as usual, Where Did The Weekend Go? Somehow, and please don’t ask me how, we’d ended up doing all our chores except one, and ignoring all items in the fun list except for the buffet lunch and the mountain hike and the latter was a risk management afterthought in the first place, remember?

Sure, we did do a lot of other fun things instead – I lazed around in bed on Saturday and discovered the televised adaptation of my favorite book series on youtube, then I tried my hand at gardening on Sunday, planting some new plants and pampering and admiring the old ones, and we saw my first Hollywood action movie on Saturday night. (Only one person enjoyed this last activity, I’m sure you can guess who!)

But that’s entirely besides the point. My Grand Plan for our weekend had proved completely useless! Next weekend, I plan to stick to my good old chores list. Some things in life just cannot be planned, I’ve realized!

8 responses to “The Best Laid Plans…!

  1. Wow D,
    You HAD fun this weekend. Loved reading this post. I guess I am the first to drop by. (I dance a junglee dance). I gotta check out the Anne link on YouTube. And I remember I saw ConAir long back and simply loved it. Cage is an all time favorite, but he was amazing in this movie.

  2. (Hi,

    Have been browsing to your blog for many days now (enjoy reading your posts!), but posting a comment for the first time.)

    Impressive that you got all except one of the chores done! Typically, my chores get postponed till Monday as well, and then I’m scrambling to do those during the week. Well, do hope you get to do your “planned” fun things over the coming weekend(s)…

  3. You said it ! No amount of planning helps…especially for a weekend. It all begins, G says, if you wake up early even on a weekend. If that itself doesnt happen, it is almost a given that others will not happen too πŸ˜€ I agree to it wholly πŸ˜€ Half our plans do not work out cos we dont wake up early and get to the list πŸ˜€

  4. I would have probably done all the fun things and then fretted on Sunday night that i didn’t get any of the chores done.
    I thought that i will have all the time in the world to take care of chores when not working i.e. not having an official job, only to realize that it was never the lack of time that postponed the chores getting done. It was just lack of effort and inclination. πŸ™‚

  5. Oh no Manpreet! I didn’t like ConAir at all! I hate such maar-dhaad wala stuff. πŸ™‚ And please check out the Anne series, I’m sure your kids will love it.

    You are right D, completely agree!

    Welcome Aarti, it’s so nice of you to speak up. I am always puzzled when the stat counter goes up… Thank you!

    Chakli, Aarti – If the husband had his way we would have left chores for the ‘next weekend’ which never ever comes of course. πŸ˜‰ But I like to finish off stuff before I relax these days… no idea why – I wasn’t like this before marriage. 😦

    Ditto on the early waking up Snippets. I love to get up at 8 on a weekend and have a whole day ahead of me, instead of three quarters or sometimes (sheepish grin) just half! πŸ™‚

    Oho Lekhni, thanks for the clarification! πŸ˜‰ And no, it wasn’t the rent cheque after all!

Leave a Reply

