Happy Ganesh Chaturthi to all!

This…

New Hampshire - White Mountains

New Hampshire - White Mountains

…is why I couldn’t do a Ganesh Chaturthi post this year. And no modaks for the husband either!

We hiked around the White Mountains area of New Hampshire through the Labor Day weekend. Back home tired and sleepy late on Monday night, I was in no mood to make elaborate festival preparations. So I took the easiest way out and attended Ganpati celebrations at my friends’ place instead, all doubts and principles put aside for the moment. And I am glad we went, we had a great time, admiring the Ganpati decorations, singing aartis and enjoying the sumptuous traditional festive food. Only the husband is not satisfied yet and is pestering me to make modaks this weekend. Oh well, let me see about that! And a very happy Ganesh festival to all of you too!

Coming back to New Hampshire (how I wish I really could go back!), let me do my usual photo feature again. The pictures are beautiful plus I know you guys enjoy them so much more than my ramblings!

The view from the summit of Mount Willard, our first hike for the weekend!

The view from the summit of Mount Willard, our first hike for the weekend!

Halfway up Mt. Willard and tired already!

Halfway up Mt. Willard and tired already!

Light at last - We are there!

Light at last - We are there!

Ripley Falls - A short and sweet climb away!

Ripley Falls - A short and sweet climb away!

The view from Mount Washington - the tallest peak in the NorthEast.

The view from Mount Washington - the tallest peak in the NorthEast.

One of New Hampshire’s famed Covered Bridges…

One of New Hampshire’s famed Covered Bridges…

Relaxing by a stream…

Relaxing by a stream…

What better setting for an impromptu picnic lunch?

What better setting for an impromptu picnic lunch?

Tranquility!

Tranquility!

9 responses to “Happy Ganesh Chaturthi to all!

  1. I wanna go too……
    You took the view from the highest peak in the NE.I mean FROM the highest peak ?? Do I know a mountaineer?
    Allllllll the pics look great.
    Thanks for sharing.

  2. Wow! You hiked up Mt. Washington !
    It is indeed a great place to be in. We visited it last fall. And, it was too awesome for words. We drove up Mt. Washington & it was a great adventure.. You should try it once.
    Your pics made me want to go there again… Sigh!

  3. Oops – sorry if I gave out the wrong impression Mampi and Akhila! We did NOT hike Mt. Washington, I wouldn’t dare do that in my wildest dreams – for now. 🙂 We drove up the Mt. Washington Auto Road and hiked some much smaller and easier summits. So now you can take all your compliments back!!!

    And Snippets! Do I? Really? Thanks then! 🙂

  4. Nice pictures. You sure had a wonderful holiday! Ganesh Chaturthi is getting very noisy out here, and frankly I don’t enjoy the festival at all although I always loved Ganpati. More of a cultural thing for me though, rather than religious.
    Happy Ganesh Chaturthi to you too!

  5. Hey JM wonderful pics..Absolutely breathtaking!!Mumbai is a madhouse these days.People are swarming all over thanks to Ganpati and Ramzan.But it is good fun..

  6. Me too CW! Thanks!

    Thank you D, thank you. I’ll take a bow now. 😉

    Yeah Nita, when I look back on fond Ganpati memories, loud drums and vulgar dancing and rowdyism in the streets isn’t what I think of at all – it’s the homely cultural atmosphere that I miss. The whole family coming together to celebrate… Sigh!

    Thanks Aarti. I miss the excitement. 😦

Leave a Reply

