Brilliant little you and me!

First D, then Mampi and now Chakli and Priya have tagged my blog with the Brilliant Blog Award. Four of you find my ramblings brilliant? Wow! Thank you friends, both the blog and I feel humbled and honored! What more do we say? We are somewhat overwhelmed at present. Let us bask in our newfound glory for a while please!

But before that, I need to complete the tag by passing on the award to seven bloggers I admire. Hmm… just seven? Let me skip my regulars then. You guys know how much I love you already, don’t you? Perhaps its time to come out of the closet and name some of the brilliant blogs I usually only lurk around at – it feels so embarrassing to keep saying ‘Great post!’ and ‘I agree!’ and add nothing to the discussion, you know.

So here’s my list. A lot of these folks are blogging celebrities and I know they may never get around to seeing this, but if Mampi can tag Mr. Bachchan, surely I can tag Baradwajrangan and The Mad Momma!

Baradwajrangan – The best Bollywood movie reviewer today, in my humble opinion. I simply MUST read his reviews before and after watching a movie – that way I get to enjoy it thrice!

Memsaab – I never thought I’d meet an American who was madly in love with Shammi Kapoor. And Hindi movies. Her movie reviews are total masala entertainment! And the screen snapshots are to die for!

The Mad Momma – Her blog and Usha’s AgelessBonding were some of the first blogs I was hooked on to, they lured me into the blogosphere so to speak. Candid, fiery, passionate and giving-as-good-as-she-gets, her crazy-about-my-family attitude and cool parenting style is an inspiration to me and her confidence and sense of style is something I wish I could emulate … We keep having our disagreements but her posts are still the first thing I check when I log on to the internet – I love her impassioned writing plus her comment space is a complete entertainment in itself. AND we share our birthdays too!

Usha at AgelessBonding – Around this time last year, Usha was sweet enough to comment on an unknown newbie’s blog (mine!) and encourage her to continue. Thanks so much Usha, I might not have got to this 85th post of mine without that kind gesture. I have to keep reminding myself this is a woman of my parent’s generation when I read her posts, it’s so easy to forget otherwise. But does it really matter? Warm, friendly, funny, naughty, well-informed, wise and totally open-minded – you couldn’t have chosen a better name for your blog Usha – AgelessBonding it is!

Sunayana Roy’s Sunny Days – Sue is exactly my age but so much wiser! And she’s the most straightforward blogger I read. Be it a post on kicking the smoking habit or narrating a husband-wife spat or offering her two cents on handling the in-laws – her writing is always honest but never sensational – the reason I like it so much perhaps.

Boo – What a name! And a what a blog! Trust Boo to find humor in the most mundane of situations – she can pick up something that happens everyday in our homes and only ends up irritating us and turn it into fodder for her next rolling-on-the-floor kind of rolicking hilarious post!

Indian Homemaker – I came across her blog only by chance very recently and am I glad I did! A passionate feminist, she manages to say a lot of what I only think but can never put in words and helps me make sense of the jumbled thoughts in my mind. Plus I get the impression she truly cares about the stuff she writes and that makes her writing doubly appealing to me.

You guys are all brilliant!

And now with that done, we are off to gloat!

13 responses to “Brilliant little you and me!

  1. Congrats Devaki,
    I have always been in awe of your words-simple, suave, controlled and yet they drive home the point. I simply love your writing.
    Will see the links you have given thru the awards. And I liked the spirit in this post.

  2. Guess what, I was going to give you the award too but I went around some blogs and found you had already been awarded more than once. And please do not thank me, I love your posts and comment when I have something intelligent to say. The fact that I have not been commenting on your recent posts is not because I do not find them interesting but it is just that i have nothing more to add.
    Rock on girl, we love your posts.
    And thanks for the kind words.
    I am totally humbled that you mentioned me in the same post as Rangan and The madmomma!

  3. Hi Devaki, thank you for your kind words about my blog! I do appreciate it, especially coming from a good writer like you are πŸ™‚ I do visit your blog too although I’m a lurker not a commenter…(I talk enough on my own blog, heh.)

  4. Thanks Mampi. πŸ™‚

    Ushaji, you are too modest! Thanks a lot for this second round of encouragement… should keep me going for the next year or so… πŸ˜‰

    You are welcome IHM! And I meant every word I said…

    Wow, nice to see you here Memsaab. I had no idea you were lurking around!

  5. πŸ™‚ thanks Devaki

    and Usha – you are embarrassing me. you’re one of the first bloggers I read!

    although Devaki – I am a TOTAL Rangan fan. and thrilled to be mentioned along with him.

  6. Pingback: Blogging friends and brilliant blogs « The Brat, the Bean and Bedlam

  7. You are welcome MM! I was wondering if you missed my comment – it’s been so long. But I can understand you must be busy… with two babies and being a blogging celebrity and all! πŸ˜‰

  8. Oh! This should act as a reminder to me – not to be extra-sensitive and read too much into every little thing. πŸ™‚

  9. Late but I’ve acknowledged it at last. Hope I didn’t give the impression that I didn’t mean to. Post will be up some hours later.

  10. No problem Sue, I am pretty forgetful myself. And I really truly admire your blog.

    Hi Parul, good to see you here! Hope you enjoy browsing! Pssst… I’ve been to your blog many times, loved it, but been too chicken/lazy to stop and comment.

Leave a Reply

