Delhi Blasts – A Reaction

Naadaan Hain Hum To Maalik, Kyoon Di Hamein Yeh Saza
Yahan Hai Sabhi Ke Dil Mein Nafrat Ka Zaher Bhara
Inhe Phir Se Yaad Dila De Sabak Wahi Pyaar Ka
Ban Jaaye Gulshan Phir Se Kaanton Bhari Duniya

(Excerpted from the song ‘Ek Tu Hi Bharosa‘ from the movie Pukar)

What is happening to our beautiful country? Who are these bloodthirsty countrymen we never knew about? Why didn’t we see them before? And what makes them thirst for innocent blood? Did we do something to make them think this way?

Historians and more learned folks might claim otherwise (and they may well be right) but for me December ’92 was when the desecration of my beautiful homeland began. When a little known (to me) political party capitalized on a little known (again, to me) religious feud to spur its rise in national politics.

Yes, that’s where it all began, to my mind. When my beloved hometown, a cosmopolitan city where Hindus thronged Muslim markets to shop for Diwali and where Manmohan Desai made a sappy national integration movie like Amar Akbar Anthony, Mumbai, a safe city that stayed relatively calm through the horrors of partition, was rocked by gruesome religious riots. And the terrifying bomb blasts that followed a few months later.

I have no love for the terrorists (who would!) but I am ashamed of what you did too. Our two communities may not have been the best of friends, but we never had it so bad before, did we? So much mistrust, hate fueling hate, revenge begetting another bloody round of revenge… Where does this all end?

Religion is a very personal matter, it belongs in our minds and in our families and homes, at most. How can we fight and kill each other over something so personal and subjective? Would you kill me if I said my husband was the best husband in the world? Would you mistrust me only because I did not marry yours? Sounds ridiculous, doesn’t it? I am sorry, but I find the other argument just as ridiculous too.

I am Hindu and I’d like to tell the so-called saviors of my Hindu pride, I don’t really care about rebuilding a temple that may or may not have been destroyed so many years ago if it is to happen at the cost of communal peace. And I have no interest in reclaiming the so-called lost honor of my religion. I never thought it was lost in the first place. I am very proud of my religion and would have been prouder still if you had never entered the picture.

Having said that, I am also least interested in establishing the supremacy of my religion over others. I am quite okay if you consider your religion superior to mine. Maybe it really is, who knows! I respect all religions equally, I truly do. I find as much peace of mind in a church as in a temple. I bow my head in reverence each time I pass a mosque. And I have Muslim friends who I am sure would like to say something similar to the terrorists supposedly waging war on their behalf.

So let me ask you both, fanatic Hindus and Muslims, do you care about the thousands of innocent lives being lost in this farce, lives of the very people whom you claim to protect and later avenge? Did they volunteer to be sacrificed in your war? Men, women and children, the bombs did not distinguish between Hindus, Muslims, Sikhs and Christians – simple folks like yours and mine out for some Saturday evening fun with the family. Did any of them personally murder someone in Gujarat?

WHAT CRIME DID THEY COMMIT? None? So they were simply a statistic then? A statistic in the grand war you are fighting on behalf of us all? Ah, that explains it all.

Note: This was my emotional and personal reaction to the Delhi blasts. I may have got some facts wrong or you may disagree with my interpretation of events – I’ll be glad if you would politely correct me and explain your viewpoint in that case. Thank you.

Edited to add: Roop and Phoenix Ritu have something similar to say too. I wish we could implement some of Roop’s suggestions. I have a feeling they would work but vested interests would never let us try.

26 responses to “Delhi Blasts – A Reaction

  1. Pingback: New Delhi blasts, apathy, Islamic terrorism … « banalities of my life

  2. I got here from Roop’s blog. I love what you have written here. Your emotional & logical response to what happened in Delhi really resonates within me. I’ve often asked the same questions you’ve asked in this post… what did these innocent people do wrong that they have to lose their lives for the religious fanatics to feel some sense of sick satisfaction and power?! And why is religion being victimized and used as a tool/inspiration for terrorism? Why is it so important to kill people to make whatever point terrorists are trying to make?

    We live in a bad, bad, bad world.

  3. This isn’t about religion Devaki, this is about the ‘politics’ of religion. People who’re killing in the name of religion don’t care for their own God – because no God teaches you to kill in His name. They’re killing for power.

    What is sad however, is that people – the masses, the educated, the elite – are also getting embroiled in this fight for power: some knowingly, others unwillingly. We are unable to unite against Evil. We flee, we escape, we ignore because we don’t know what else to do. That is the greatest tragedy of all.

  4. religion/ language/ caste / creed / gender….all nothing but ways and means to create domination…God has never figured in any of this…its man’s greed alone that is to blame.

  5. fanatic Hindus and Muslims, do you care about the thousands of innocent lives being lost in this farce, lives of the very people whom you claim to protect and later avenge? Did they volunteer to be sacrificed in your war? Men, women and children, the bombs did not distinguish between Hindus, Muslims, Sikhs and Christians – simple folks like yours and mine out for some Saturday evening fun with the family. Did any of them personally murder someone in Gujarat?

    Exactly as I think about it..

    Sadly,nobody is going to answer about it.We need to fight for oursleves viewing this as terror against all of us,and not against a particular group…This is insane,done by some insanes..But why do we have to suffer at their cost?

    Came here thru IHM’s blog..Hi:)

  6. We need to act before it kills our own dear ones..Politicians are not going to do anything..Though a bad suggestion,I wish i could act as Shah is ‘A Wednesday’..Then again it makes no difference between me and those who take law in their hands..But giving up by saying ‘there is no way out’ is like surrendering to those sick people,who know no religion,caste ,color or creed..God bless all..

  7. Meanwhile, attacks on Christians and Churches continue unabated. It’s time to think who is our REAL enemy? If the Bajrang Dal activists really think they’re heroic enough, why don’t they go attack these terrorists? Man to man. One to one…

  8. Thanks Roop, I really liked the logical way in which you analyzed everything. Mine was a far more emotional response but I had very similar thoughts in mind…

    Thank you Sindhu. And welcome! Bad it is, but I wish I knew how to make it better – in some small way.

    Thanks Mampi. I don’t know what else to say… 😦

    You are right D. And its the second part that’s really troubling, isn’t it? Common people believing in and joining this farce!

    But greed for what Pinku? Power? Aren’t there easier ways to gain power! 😦

    Yes Nimmy, God Bless us all. Nothing more to be said again!

    I agree Lunte. I don’t buy into the collective guilt concept either. And this new Christian angle worries me very much – don’t these people know what they might be starting! When did we become so intolerant?

  9. The terrorists are not going to realize anything Devaki…They are just blood hounds…What needs to be done is to figure out a way to proactively fight them. But who can do that and how, I have no answer…Like D so effectively mentioned, the common man knows not what to do….

    Well written πŸ™‚

  10. That was a nice surprise IHM. Thank you again! πŸ™‚

    Thanks Jira. I know the terrorists are not likely to be swayed by such bleeding heart posts. πŸ™‚ My intention behind writing this was to ask the rest of us – are we sure we are not playing some part in making these guys walk down this gruesome path? I want to fight terrorism too, but I want to fight it with a totally clear conscience.

    Exactly Chandni, I wish! 😦

  11. Questions for which there doesn’t seem an answer. It seems that we are dealing with an enemy who listens to no reason, no love, who is just hungry for blood.
    Watch “A wednesday” and tell me what you think.

  12. That was beautiful . I kind of like to think that 92 was where it all began . Then it got a boost in 02 , and now 08 is burning . Every time a riot occurs , the Jehadis get more soldiers to recruit from . Every time a bomb explodes , the forces of Hindutva get stronger . And I am stuck in the middle . Where is Buddha’s middle way in this God forsaken hellish world ?

  13. Bang on Kislay! You are a Buddhist? I wish we could all convert to a peaceful tolerant religion like Buddhism and end this religious conflict forever! I know – stupid impractical thought – but no harm in wishing, is there? πŸ™‚

    I loved the movie Usha. Mixed feelings about its solution though – I posted a more detailed comment on your blog!

  14. i come from jamshedpur and i have seen major riots when i was 4 in 1979. imagine still having a memory of those riots. they have been there of yore. it is the spread of information and the resultant media excess of today that thankfully communicates the horror of it stronger than ever before. babri was definitely a pivotal point but we, all of us, hindus and muslims are letting that 1 blot ruin everything that has followed it. it is like the partition of india and pakistan. there will exist social tensions in an unequal country like india. hindus are ill-treated, attacked and if given some more leeway they will be killed in maharashtra because they are not locals. it is all disheartening, but, we must protest, by voting out our corrupt politicians, electing progressive leaders and creating an equal identity for the new indian. peace. protest.

  15. I don’t have to be a buddhist to be an admirer of Buddha, do I ? πŸ™‚ And I do not think that Buddhism or any religion is peaceful or tolerant . It is the followers who are , or aren’t . And under which post did you post your comment ?

  16. Wow, looks like I had a pretty sheltered childhood in Mumbai, going by your experience Astralwicks. Thanks for sharing your thoughts. I agree we shouldn’t let a negative experience cloud our thinking, but that might be easier said than done in case of the victims. But yes, I get your larger point and I agree. And progressive leaders? Sigh! I’d be interested to know whom you consider in that category?

    You are absolutely right Kislay. My mistake, I apologize. Shouldn’t have jumped to conclusions. πŸ™‚ And I am not sure which is the comment you are asking about?

  17. Pingback: New Delhi - City under siege « Weaving a Web

  18. Pingback: Nominations So Far…(Updated 06/Oct…still more to come) « Visceral Observations

  19. Pingback: Final List of Nominated Posts « Visceral Observations

Leave a Reply

