An account of my special day!

This is the husband’s birthday gift to me.


Ain’t it pretty, folks?

My birthday fell on a weekday AGAIN this year and naturally there wasn’t much scope for celebration. The husband’s brother-in-law wanted to know why we hadn’t skipped office and run off somewhere for the day? ‘Oh, we did that the year we were married, we can’t possibly do it every year!’, we protested and he gave us a wicked ‘Welcome to the happily married club!’ grin.

We had already shopped for my birthday gift the previous weekend – the husband doesn’t believe in surprise gifts much. ‘What if I get you a gift and you don’t like it or something?’, he asks. So we usually go out together to buy all my gifts. Works for me too, which little girl doesn’t like to shop, eh?

At office my friends organized a sweet little get-together in the afternoon. They wanted to go out for lunch or ice cream, but that didn’t work out for some reason.

In the evening the husband and I took off at 5 PM on the dot and went… okay, you are not going to believe this… grocery shopping! We had run out of milk, you see! Now before you guys write us off altogether, let me tell you the grocery shopping was a lot of fun too. We didn’t argue over a single item for a change, it being my birthday and all!

The day ended with a lovely candlelight dinner at an Indian restaurant run by a young believe-it-or-not Italian couple. We got chatting with them after dinner and they told us their story – they fell in love with the food during a visit to India, decided to open their own restaurant back home and went back to India for six months to learn to cook. Incredible, huh? While we in India rave over American joints and Italian cuisine, this Italian couple chooses to open an Indian restaurant in America!

Our day ended with some delicious cake and five candles. I insisted on five and only five! Talk about acting your age!

The most wonderful part of the day were the beautiful birthday wishes that came pouring in, in person, over the phone, on email, in lovely little e-cards, on orkut and of course the lovely comments on my blog. I am now going to list everyone that I can remember. Please feel free to skip this part – it is meant to refresh my own failing memory only.

In person: The husband and the office gang. An obviously short list unfortunately!

Over the phone: Aai-Baba, my in-laws, Mama-mami, Attya, Swati, Vallari, the brother-in-law and sis-in-law, Prasad, Pandukaka, Jyotsana and Aparna.

Emails: Jyoti, Dr. Watson and Payal.

E-cards: Aai-Baba, Jyoti, M and Sharda.

On orkut: Sorry, too numerous too list!

On the blog: Please to see the comments section on the previous post!

Thanks a lot, all of you! Each and every wish meant a lot to me. Thanks for making my special day even more special!

17 responses to “An account of my special day!

  1. Wow, that was prompt MM! I feel like a 2 year old now, sulking and demanding b’day wishes and attention. πŸ˜‰ But it was seriously nice to ‘talk’ to you after so long…!!!

    The home in the header pic is a rental one we stayed in 3 years ago in Pune. So no more pics from there… and psst… there was nothing more worth sharing either. I will be doing a post on my current home pics soon, will ping you again to come and take a look then. πŸ™‚

  2. Yes the birthday gift is very pretty, now you must post a picture of your ears with the gift πŸ™‚
    I like the idea of buying birthday gifts together πŸ˜‰
    It feels so good when people remember and wish.
    With best wishes on a new year in your life, IHM

  3. Just the ears IHM? πŸ˜€ Okay, I will try, soon, promise. And you are right, the best part of any occasion is the people who remember and wish us. Earlier I used to think of it as a terrible chore – calling up people whom I don’t speak to otherwise only on their b’day. And I used to think these folks might be getting tired of the incessant phone calls on their special day. But now, living away from home, I feel otherwise. It might be a chore, but if it has even a small chance of making someone happy, why not! πŸ™‚

    Thanks D, I agree. Better to get a nice gift even if you helped choose it, eh? πŸ˜‰

  4. Wish you a belated but fabulous birthday and year ahead! What a lovely gift. You must feel so special.

    So, how was the Indian food? Did the Italian couple learn well? I would like to open an Italian restaurant some day….maybe i should meet this couple! πŸ™‚

  5. Thanks so much Usha!

    Yeah Arti, new definitions of love popping up these days. πŸ˜‰

    Thanks Chakli, yes, it IS special. πŸ˜€ The food was great yaar, I wouldn’t believe the Italian guy when he said he was the chef… kept looking around for an Indian chef hiding somewhere. πŸ™‚

    And now you want to open an Italian restaurant? Nice! Are you fond of cooking? Share some nice recipes na…

  6. WOW – that is indeed very pretty ! The husband has good choice, I see πŸ˜‰ Good to know you had a great day – and just to make myself feel better, I insist on ONE candle every year! Giving the lame reason to myself that it looks pretty on the cake πŸ˜€ Little do they know what actually goes thru my mind!;)

  7. The husband has good choice? The husband?!!! Thanks Snippets! πŸ˜‰ And you are ten steps ahead of me, huh, just one candle? Okay, great idea for next year. πŸ˜€

  8. Hey thanks Dinu, both for the compliment and the birthday wishes! πŸ™‚ And welcome to my blog.

    Thanks so much Ritu! πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

