Finally…

an example of responsible and constructive journalism? I am no great expert on journalism but I certainly felt so. And more importantly, although it is guilty of promoting stereotypes in a sense, I found this piece of news extremely heartening.

For it brought on my old familiar pride in being Indian again. The kind of pride I used to feel acting in sappy national integration plays in school and watching ‘unity in diversity’ songs on Doordarshan. Yes, I felt some of that old pride returning after a long long time today, along with the familiar accompanying tingle in my spine.

And I felt a glimmer of hope. As long as common folk like you and me are able to look beyond their differences and feel each other’s pain, there is hope for all of us, don’t you think?

Amidst the usual spate of gloomy stories about hate, mistrust and growing chasms in Indian society, this one is a welcome ray of sunshine indeed!

5 responses to “Finally…

  1. This is awesome! Thanks for sharing thsi piece of news! Hats off to those young men. Truly remarkable!
    Something like this is what we need, to believe in humanity again. To restore our faith that the common man still has compassion for his fellows…

  2. Yeah D, which is why I wanted to point out this article. We must appreciate the good in the midst all the media bashing we usually indulge in. 😉

    Aapke ke mooh mein ghee-shakkar IHM! 🙂

Leave a Reply

