Diwali is here!

And I am mighty excited about it! Been too busy to do a proper post, but I’ll leave you with some pictures of the festival of lights in the JnM household. So what if we are thousands of miles from home? We can celebrate Diwali here too!

First step – bring home some cheap diyas from the local Indian store and paint and glitter from Walmart. Do NOT buy the pricey painted diyas at the store. One can paint them better at home, what say?

Next step, the lantern or ‘kandil’. This one was not so easy (my craft skills are not the best), but I managed somehow. Do you guys like it? The husband says it’s not so close to the real thing, but considering that he had very little to contribute to the project, I’ll take his comment with a pinch of salt, I think!


My favorite part, the rangoli!

It looks much better with colors, doesn’t it?

And now for the grand finale!


Floating candles all around the house completed the picture.

A very Happy Diwali to all of you too!

26 responses to “Diwali is here!

  1. Happy Diwali! I love, love, love all your accessories. Seriously. The kandil, the diyas, and rangoli are beautiful! I thought i was celebrating in a big way by lighting a set of tea light candles at home. I hang my head in shame after seeing your Diwali spirit.

  2. Wow, All the stuff you made is great, more than anything else, it is the spirit. And you have it !
    Happy Diwali and May these lights always go on enlighting your house, your mind, your career and your life.

  3. That’s really creative!! Loved the kandeel, it looks like a bandhej design when lit, the decorated diyas look ethnic!

    Wish you and your family a very happy and prosperous Diwali πŸ™‚

  4. Beautiful πŸ™‚ Reminds me of the days I used to help mom with all the decorations. Rangoli was my USP! Sigh…I dont even have a wooden floor anywhere in our house to put one now 😦

    Btw, my post on Diwali is in my drafts. Should complete it soon πŸ™‚

  5. A big THANK YOU to all of you – Chakli, Mampi, IHM, MadMomma, TS, M and MM! You are all so sweet to shower such praise on my modest efforts.
    *bashfully takes a bow* πŸ˜€

    Chakli, I am usually the one hanging my head in shame, thrilled to have induced that feeling in someone else now! πŸ˜‰ Psst… you know I am joking na? I love tealight candles myself.

    You don’t bother after the kids as in they won’t let the rangoli be, right? You will be interested to know I have one kid at home myself MadMomma – the husband kept eyeing my rangoli all the while, saying wistfully, ‘We used to have such fun spoiling the neighbors’ rangolis at home…’ πŸ˜‰ You can imagine the ‘look’ he got!

    Waiting for your post M.

  6. Hey Happy Diwali! Delurking to say that you seriously underestimate yourself. If these are samples of your “limited” art skills, well then I guess us lesser mortals should simply drown in shame πŸ˜‰
    Your kandil is simply mindblowing! My nani used to make a new one every year and we kids used to love sitting and watching her work at it. Sadly we could not learn the nitty-gritties (being kids and also under the delusion that nanis live on forever). Seeing your lantern brought back so many memories……. It has also inspired me to try and make it myself next year. Would you mind sharing the technique to make the kandil and the rangoli? I’ll be setting up home independently in a couple of months and am so looking forward to the experience!
    Excuse the long comment and thanks for the lovely post! πŸ™‚

  7. Wow Devaki..
    I absolutely loved the decorations!! Forget what the husband thinks ;), I absolutely love the diyas, the kandil, the rangoli and the lights…
    Belated Diwali wishes to the J&M household!!

  8. Thanks a bunch Anu, Ritu, Jira, Arti and Sindhu! A very happy Diwali to all of you too! πŸ™‚

    Minerva – your story reminded me of MY nani, you know. I am glad I could inspire you to make your own kandil, your nani must be thanking me too. πŸ™‚ How to make it? Umm… I am not sure if I can explain it so well, but let me try.

    Basically all the sides are square pieces of colored card paper with holes punched into them (using a simple punching machine) to get the glittery effect, folded at the edges and the edges then stapled together to form the kandil. All you’ll need is colored card paper, a punch machine and a stapler! Sounds easy na? The toughest part is folding the edges and stapling them in the right way to get a kandil-like shape. I’ll suggest you make a smaller model first to get an idea of the shape.

    As for the rangoli, I looked at designs on the net and tweaked them a bit to form my own one. The trick is the symmetry. In Maharashtra we make a grid of dots before drawing the actual rangoli, that usually takes care of symmetry if done right. For more detailed instructions, google baba should help you out. Psst… that’s where I look too. Good luck – let me know how it goes! πŸ™‚

  9. the lantern is gorgeous!! just say Hhrrmmppff from me to the husband who said otherwise!! πŸ˜€

    and even the diyas and rangoli! i bow to thee!! πŸ˜€

    cheers!

    abha

  10. Okay, said! He went ‘Hhrrmmppff’ back at you Abha! πŸ˜€

    Hey, thanks HDWK, I will be showing your comment to the husband too! He didn’t like it much. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

