Shameless self-promotion

… should be allowed once in a while, what say?

Specially when there’s a milestone AND an award (nomination) just around the corner. So my blog will celebrate it’s hundredth post very soon and one of my posts has been nominated for the Avant Garde Bloggies Award in the movie review category today. Is that cool or what?

On this (ahem) momentous occasion, I have two requests to make of you.

I have written ninety nine posts so far and have been blogging for a little more than a year now. The experience has been fabulous for me but I have no idea how YOU think about it. I am looking for some feedback friends.

Please leave a comment telling me how you feel about this blog – what you like and what you don’t. Are the posts too long? Boring? Vague? Too personal? Can you relate to them? Any sort of feedback is welcome. Lurkers, regulars, friends, foes and passers-by – everyone – please don’t leave without a comment today.

Once you do that, check out my nominated post for the award and if you like it, please vote for me here. (Of course, you could vote for me even if you don’t like it, but I won’t push my luck!)

Go on, make my day please!

32 responses to “Shameless self-promotion

  1. It is a pleasure leaving comment on your century and on the moment of your marking it so beautifully.
    First, the nominated post-I have always loved it-the introduction to Satyajit Ray. And I have loved your entire blog enough to take its crude prints to give them to a non-blogging friend to read the posts.
    Your posts are warm in tone, informative in content and always always a great read. Here’s to more such centuries and more such awards.
    Congrats and God bless.

  2. And I am proud to have your comment as the first here Mampi!

    Pssst… my shameless half wants to know – did you vote? πŸ˜€

  3. Amongst my favorites was one against any kind of ‘groupism’, basically I liked the thought there, but then the recent one on living within your means was superb!
    Loved Married Gyan too…and Remembering but not 9/11….

    As to what I think of this blog …no, the posts are not too long, love the pictures you add to the posts, nope not boring either, in fact some posts are totally engrossing.
    Can I relate to them – yes, I think to all your posts, but the favourite ones are particularly ‘relatable’ πŸ™‚

    And now finally, Congratulations on posting a hundred posts πŸ™‚ Many, many more to come πŸ™‚

    Will go vote now πŸ™‚

  4. 100..Thats a big number! Congrats girl!

    I haven’t been reading you for a long time. But whatever I have read, I have enjoyed πŸ™‚ And I loved the ‘nominated review’ too!
    The best thing about your blog is its simplicity. I love the way you discuss day-to-day stuff with such simple candidness. I love your personal take on the topics u discuss, instead of preaching…I think thats what makes this space special. The mellow style, yet making a point!
    In the past few months of reading your posts, I can def say one thing. I can very well relate to U and what u write. And had I met you in person, I am sure we would have been good friends!

  5. Its a lovely blog…I love it…nothing thatI don’t like!

    Honestly! U write really well, of course one relates to your writing!

    so continue blogging πŸ™‚

  6. Congratulations!

    And if I have you on my blogroll darling, it must say something about how much I like this blog. Nay?

    Keep it up girl!

  7. Congratulations on completing 100 posts!
    I enjoy reading your posts ‘coz they are simple, lucid and very relatable.
    Keep writing and good luck with the award! I have voted for you πŸ™‚

  8. I voted for you too.It was a great post! I really love your blog. Since I am new here, I have read very few of your posts but I can say one thing- have really loved all of the few I read.Hope this blog continues to go places…
    kiran

  9. Well, I’ve been reading your blog for the last month or so. I haven’t really been here for too long but I definitely have enjoyed all the posts I have read. You have a personal way of writing, drawing your readers into your story. πŸ™‚ Keep up the good work! I’ll definitely be sticking around for your future posts.

  10. Congratulations!!
    I think we all look forward to your posts which are always always beautifully and honestly written. Way to go,Keep up the good work and in case your shameless half is wondering ….i have voted for YOU πŸ˜‰

  11. You know, pictures are something I started very recently IHM. And they work beautifully, a post with pictures feels so much more personal somehow, doesn’t it? Oh, and thanks for your lovely words IHM – they mean a lot to me!

    Thanks Jira… simple, relatable, personal take and no preaching – sounds good to me! πŸ˜€

    That’s a great compliment coming from you Chandni. (You’re a wonderful writer yourself, that’s why!) Thanks! πŸ™‚

    Yeah, that’s true D! πŸ˜€

    Hmmm… now that’s great specific feedback Anu, exactly what I was looking for. Thanks! I try to keep things simple and relatable always!

    Thanks Ritu, of course I’ve voted for you, I love ALL your MIL takes!

    Hehe… I wasn’t going to let you off the hook without voting Mampi. πŸ˜€

    Thank you Mithe! Your first time here? Or first time delurking? Glad to hear from you either way! πŸ™‚

    Thanks Sindhu. Yeah, it’s usually a personal anecdote that makes me relate to a topic and write about it. I was just wondering if you guys found the personal touch endearing or irritating. :p

    Thanks Sumel – tera support toh taken for granted tha! πŸ˜‰ But still, shameless half kush hua! πŸ˜€
    P.S. Where are you? Koi khabar de na apni!

    P.S. All of you have good things to say, which is great. Makes my day! :p But I would welcome constructive criticism too, you know. So if you have some but haven’t shared it yet in the feel-good spirit of things, go right ahead please!

  12. I am pretty new to your blog. I think the first post I read (and left a comment I think..but what do I know I am losing my mind these days) is the one on you wrote about your DC trip.

    Then, I came by again and read about the living within your means wala.

    I like how you share whats going on in your life and future plans(where in west coast? Bay Area? I am here..we should meet..). I like your Diwali/Baby Shower pictures.
    I am going over to nominate for you once this comment is done.

  13. Even though I am compartively new here, I like your blog. I do not get time to comment everytime but I enjoy your posts. I do not think they are boring at all. And congratulations on your 99 posts!

  14. OK – heres what I have told in the past (and dont mind telling it again) about why I like your blog:
    a) I can relate to it very well
    b) The subjects are pretty varied in nature that makes it all the more interesting if you’re having a bad day
    c) To me, your blog is more like talking to you πŸ™‚ Its that simple a language you write in πŸ™‚
    d) Some of your posts are a total inspiration for me πŸ™‚
    e) I love the personal part of your blogs. And thats where I found I have a similarities with you πŸ™‚

    Hearty congratulations to you on the 99 ! Way to go !!

    *pops the cork and glasses clink*

  15. …and now I realise I’m torn between two of my fav bloggers in this category 😦 maybe I’ll vote for both πŸ˜€

  16. Your posts are a good read and are very appealing to me, many posts I can relate to my life and things that touch it.
    But… your posts are long – I read couple of your posts and was wondering in the middle where it would finish and checking out how much more to read. I dont mean to be rude, but just a frank opinion – a thing to try is to check if the post is longer than x # of words and is yes, break it into 2 posts…

  17. Thanks Sraikh. You live in the Bay Area? Close to SFO? We WILL meet then, pakka! πŸ˜€

    Thanks Nita. Again, a huge compliment, coming from you!

    *clink* Cheers, Snippets! πŸ˜€
    Oh, and don’t worry about the voting, vote for the better post na, that way, no loyalty issues!

    Okay, finally I have some constructive criticism. Point taken. Thanks for sharing, passer-by!

  18. I’ve always liked your blog…though i don’t comment as often…I do peek in and see what’s new with you….I’d love to vote my dear!

    have a lovely day ahead!

  19. i love reading your blogs and can relate to most of them…the best thing about ur blogs is the simplicity .very lucidly written ..what I would like to see more is probably more blog entries to make my day πŸ™‚

    Sumana

  20. I am not really a regular visitor here. Always knew you could write well. I admit I do not relate to every entry but what comes across strongly while reading your blog is the sheer quotient of life in it. It’s a welcome relief for cynics like me. All the Best for the future!

  21. Hi , I regularly read your blog, I really like the way you write. You are an exceptionally skilled writer who can express her feelings very well. Not everybody can do that.

  22. Thank you Amit. That’s a huge compliment, coming from you. But why are you a cynic?

    Thanks Anon… I wish you had left some sort of nickname though. How do I know it’s you the next time you comment? Or aren’t you planning to delurk for the next 100 posts again? πŸ™‚

  23. hi first of all congrats for the 100th post and more so for the nomination.

    as for my comments on your blog….am a visitor though not very regular I must admit.

    What I like best about your writing is the immense readability of the posts…they are not trying to show off writing or english skills….they are simple and heart warming…which is the way i like em.

    Also love the pic on top…..especially since i own a similar bedsheet….feels very cosy, warm and right for a long gossip session. πŸ™‚

  24. Thanks Pinku! Hope you keep reading and comment sometimes. πŸ˜€ And don’t you love that bedspread? My mom got it from some sort of expo, where did you get yours? I am trying to find more of the same for our new home…

Leave a Reply

