Are you scared too?

So I was speaking with this friend of mine who’d given birth a mere 10 hours back. And she sounded like she was just home after a day of pampering at a five-star spa – cheerful, brimming with excitement and totally well-rested!

‘Did you sleep well last night?’, I timidly asked her.

‘Oh yes, very well!’, she replied. ‘The stiches in my vagina hurt a bit, but the doctor gave me some painkillers, so I am feeling absolutely fine now.’

All this, spoken in the most casual way possible, as if she was talking about a mild headache that was only vaguely troubling her, rather than VAGINAL STITCHES whose very mention had me trembling ten miles away at the other end of the telephone!!!

Is it just me or does this sound scary to you too?

32 responses to “Are you scared too?

  1. I don’t think there is anything scary in this. I was in pain too but still beamed like a new bride :)..err..new mom.

    Reached here through another blog. Read couple of interesting posts.

  2. I have no idea about vaginal stitches … Did she mean perineal cut and stitches? A little cut in the perineum to prevent tearing, when the baby’s head comes out. Nature must have thought that subsequent (a dozen or more?) babies will be born more easily once the perineum is torn in the first delivery! But now (in my case) they gave a neat snip and stitched it up again. I asked them to first give local and then cut it, she said it had already been cut!

    It isn’t bad, a little uncomfortable but that’s it. I had to roll a towel into tyre shape and sit on it to avoid putting weight on the stitches for a while.

    The excitement and the newness of it all, takes care of a lot of problems, just think one is creating a little life!!! I remember laughing hysterically when I heard her Bollywood style new born cries, and thanking the doctors etc! It seems a lot of mothers do that.

    Yes it is scary when you hear about it, but you can see from your friend it isn’t bad πŸ™‚

  3. :)) Don’t worry you will be just fine. There was a time when I used to run away from pregnant women because I thought they would just fall on me with all the weight or the baby would pop out from somwehere. Delivery was something which I could never imagine.

    So I can understand where you are coming from. I have a 4 yr old now πŸ™‚ and trust me you will forget everything once you see the baby.

  4. hehehe…yes, very scary. i have heard couple of my friends talk casually about their vaginal stitches. i guess there are other aches and pains to distract them after child birth. πŸ™‚

  5. The only thing to be scared about is labor pain – even that can be avoided by using albuterol, i NEVER would’ve thought delivery could be so easy. if there aren’t other complications, I think its pretty neat and nothing to worry about.
    Back home in India, they dont use albuterol(at least I have not heard about it) I have heard labor screams and scary.
    The vaginal stitches are also not that bad. u probably will have pain for a few days and can do good with painkillers.

  6. Meso, you give me hope!

    M, wait, wait, let us both swoon and fall together!!!

    Ritu, you are one of the most positive persons I know!!!

    D and Chakli, I know, I know!!!

    Hmmm… I guess our imagination is just too good, eh Minnie? πŸ™‚

    Now you scare me again Passer-by!

  7. Good Heavens – no its not scary. Its irritating as hell – but not painful. Plus, when you have a brand spanking new baby everything else recedes into the background.

    I’ve got stitches there too – its actually such a common procedure that there’s a name for it – its called an episiotomy. And its *so* common now that its usually called by it’s abbreviation “the epi”. πŸ™‚

    That make you feel better ?
    Priya.

  8. πŸ™‚ Trust you to banish all my fears in that no-nonsense style of yours Priya! I do feel better now, thanks! And a very Happy New Year to you, E and E’s dad! (Oh, and the lil doggie too, sorry I forgot!)

  9. Hey Jottings&Musings,
    Did you read my “i NEVER would’ve thought delivery could be so easy” – It was easy for me and really I will never be scared to have another baby and would never scare anyone(I am sorry if I sounded so :(). I am yet to see a mother that will not have another baby because of fear of pain or stitches or whatever, have you seen anyone like that? – the joy on seeing the baby’s face outdoes any pain. My son is 2 and a half and every time I tend think this is the best time of my life(it gets better as he grows) and hopefully it will be this way all the time :).
    So have no fear and good luck! πŸ™‚

  10. I came to the comment section to say – “Ayyo! That sounds terrible”

    But, reading through so many experienced mom comments here makes me think its not that painful after all.

    Seems like we’ll all be just fine when our time comes dear…Chill πŸ™‚

  11. Oh yes, I was happy with that Passerby but then got scared by your description of labors in India. Anyhow, glad you explained. Seriously, you know, I feel much better about this whole thing after writing this post and reading all the mommy comments. Thanks so much all of you!

    Chill AHK? Okay, chilling! πŸ˜€

  12. I am scared too..hearing about all the stitches etc and a lot of my friends comfort me by saying it is all fine. That when you hold your baby for the first time u dont remember anything else.But i guess we will not understand it till we actually get there ourselves. And i am sure we will live on to tell our scary stories…

  13. Oh, so you think she’ll be complaining now, eh? πŸ˜€

    Yeah, that’s the only thing that really comforts me you know Enchanted… that so many women come out of it alive. πŸ˜‰

  14. LOL !! The friend who said this is due again next month πŸ™‚ And btw dont mean to scare you more but just pray that you reach the hospital well ahead of time to get the epidural. Another friend of mine was fully dialated and hence the doctors said no time for that now. She delivered within 15 mins…

  15. πŸ™‚

    oh well! i had my pal wag a finger at me and say”its all your fault! you tol me c section is painless! that i wont have any trouble!”

    but then i really didnt have any trouble!! πŸ˜€

    i guess everyone’s body reacts differently to pain and how quickly it heals! and with modern medicine being able to avoi AND alleviate a lot of pain, things are good for us woman!

    so dontcha worry!

    :p

    cheers!

  16. hey..first timer here…found you thru snippets and scribbles..( or was it IndianHomeMaker…or was it Manpreet…cant recall now!)

    most junta seems to be saying its not scary..but to me it sounds super scary!!!
    mandira

  17. Hey, but if it’s going to happen within 15 minutes, no need for the epidural na? Lucky woman, I say!!!

    You are always so full of cheer Abha! Thanks!!! πŸ™‚

    Hi Mandira, great to see you here. Guilty secret – I am a frequent lurker at your place… There, I said it!!!

  18. hmmm..I had 2 c-sections, I guess it seems scary at first, but after holding my li’l sons in my arms, everything was forgotten! You’ll see what I mean. I came to wish you a very happy new year, my dear!

    trupti

  19. Thanks Trupti… a wonderful year ahead to you too! Did I tell you I made the tomato shak from your blog last week? Turned out YUMMY!!! πŸ™‚

  20. Oh! There’s someone out here who shares my untold fears. I keep bugging hubby and telling him khaash I was a mother of two by now, meaning I have crossed all those phases :P. Only convince myself saying there are zillions of them who have done it; then y cant I; but it always gets back to square one 😦

  21. Don’t worry Swaram, lots of us out there with you. We’ll all get to the next phase someday – pakka!!!

Leave a Reply

