A winter trek

Sometime in January last year, the husband and a friend climbed a nearby mountain range for a day trek. ‘What’s so unusual about that?’, you might ask. We live in upstate New York, that’s why. Average temperatures on a nice sunny January day here are below freezing. To say nothing of the fact that it was snowing the day the foolhardy two set out on their crazy (or so I claimed!) adventure.

‘Do I look like I’m crazy too?’, I smugly asked them when the poor guys invited me along. And ‘I just hope they come back home safe and sound!’, I prayed all day, as I enjoyedΒ  some cherished me-time warm and cozy at home.

They came home all right, and brought with them some of the most breathtaking pictures I’ve ever seen! Naturally I was jealous as a cat! I’d mocked them too much to say anything then, but this year when the winter trek was being planned, I quietly slipped in a oh-so-casual ‘Perhaps I’ll come too!’. Hoping it would go unnoticed. Obviously it wasn’t, but what’s a few taunts and jibes when such gorgeous scenery’s awaiting me, right?

So a group of five friends, yours truly included, set out on a trek to the Skytop tower on the Mohonk mountain range early last Sunday. The final ascent to the tower was closed because of icy conditions, so I didn’t get my view after all, but the scenery on the way was worth every bit of the aching limbs that followed.

I leave you with some pictures and a suggestion – if you get a chance to go on a trek in the snow, don’t miss it! Take your precautions, wear lots of layers, put on sensible boots and go for it! Oh, and please don’t tell the husband I said that!

dsc05275Setting out!

dsc05328A semi-frozen stream on the way.

dsc05332Walking on snow is a tough job!

dsc053372But the view sometimes makes up for it!

dsc05327Pug marks in the snow – was that a bear? A dog, more likely, but it was exciting to imagine a bear instead!

dsc05347Lake Mohonk

dsc05353Sunset at 4 – it’s time to head back now!

dsc05365A sight for sore eyes (and aching limbs) – isn’t that just gorgeous?

23 responses to “A winter trek

  1. The pictures are beautiful.. I went snowmobiling in Lake Tahoe on new years day. The views were amazing… but unfortunately couldn’t click much pictures since we were driving the snow mobile.

  2. Aah! I am an outdoor person and I am with your husband here πŸ™‚ Leave no chance to go in the wild and woods.

    Breathtaking pictures! We have beauty everywhere.

    I love your blog. Going to add you to my blogroll now.

  3. First of all, I need to see snow in my life… :)There is something about the blank whites that is beautiful…

    Loved the sunset picture…Lovely colours…

  4. Cheers to you both !!!!!

    Trekking is best !!! In india we have to travel to Manali to trek in the snow !! ur lucky you have snow falling in your town …!!!

    lovely pics btw…

  5. You’re mad πŸ™‚ They’ve gotten to you girl. I’d never venture anywhere near any mountain in the cold. I’d probably just Tivo the Travel channel to see breathtaking pictures πŸ˜€ *wink*

    But kudos to you. I hate the cold, and I hate getting cold feet – so no snow treks for me. But the pictures you took were wonderful.

    Priya.

  6. Oh, So Breathtaking..Yes, Yes!

    In fact, you have inspired me to take up one when hubby plans it this year ( probably in a few weeks)

    Ans no, will not tell about you or this post. Will take all the credit for my enthu myself..hehe πŸ˜‰

  7. Wow! I have always wanted to visit Lake Tahoe… it just sounds so romantic somehow. πŸ™‚ We went snow-mobiling last year too, it was amazing! The best part is the route we took, through thick pine forests – absolutely breathtaking na? But it is soooo expensive! Or I’d go every year I think. 😦

    Thanks Solilo… do write about your adventures too!

    You haven’t seen snow yet Jira? Didn’t it snow in Texas last year?

    πŸ™‚ Go on, I love envy IHM!!! Oh, and your comment is right there. Did it take a while appearing?

    I know! Thanks NM!

    It WAS great fun D!

    I know, which is why I thought let me make the best of it. Otherwise when I get back to India, I’ll regret the missed opportunity! Welcome here Dhiren! πŸ™‚

    I know, I did go mad that day Priya! You should have seen me when we got back home – aching legs and crying and moaning and all. πŸ˜€ But it really was worth it. You MUST give it a try – just once?

    Hey, don’t worry about the credit part. πŸ˜‰ I wouldn’t give anyone credit myself! Just go and enjoy yourself girl, it’s total fun!

  8. The only snow I have seen in my life, was in Houston four years back! And I was in such a hurry to capture the millimeters of snow on top of the car before it melted away. But it was definitely not the kind that you see up North! The kind where you can ski, or make balls and play 😦

  9. Hubby is in CA and no snow there too…Either you should take a standing order of snowballs from me, or I should make a trip to the east cost to get some first hand experience…:)

  10. πŸ™‚

    thats ansolutely stunning ofcos!!

    am glad you didnt mind eating your words and going ahead and having fun!! πŸ™‚

    many such trips and beauty for ya! πŸ˜€

    cheers!

  11. Sounds adventurous and looks gorgeous. A well written post. Love to hike/trek myself. My husband and i want to do snowshoeing sometime next week and im really looking forward to it πŸ˜€

  12. Oh, come on here then Jira… standing invitation, okay? πŸ™‚

    Ssshhh… no mention of eating words here Abha!!!

    Great! So are you in the Northeast too Nalini? Get back pics from your trip for us na… πŸ™‚

  13. Umm… it’s not so bad here actually. We are cooped up indoors with heaters most of the time. This day was an exception!

Leave a Reply

