If I could post while taking a shower…

… you’d find a brilliant new post here every other day!

Why, oh why, do all my best and brightest ideas come to me in the shower, or when I’m traveling, cooking, dreaming or doing just about anything that doesn’t involve staring at the laptop screen? I think up entire posts in my head, complete with the wittiest of punchlines and the most profound ideas only to remember nothing when the blank laptop screen confronts me!

SoΒ in case you’ve been wondering,Β now you know why this space doesn’t get updated as frequently as before. Any ideas to beat this brilliant-post-but-only-in-my-head syndrome?

25 responses to “If I could post while taking a shower…

  1. I am the same way. I think of a brillant post in my mind or something the kids said but when I open the laptop, blank.

    Thats why I get inspired by other bloggers.

    I hope you write soon πŸ™‚

  2. There is yet another connection. Past couple of weeks I have seen these connections with some of the bloggers and now with you “thoughts while showering” :)).

    I do. I think the max. in shower and wished many times if I could run and post those on my laptop. We need to have a ctrl c ctrl v from our brain to blog :))

  3. Well, you know its the same with me-I know I will do a post on something but it usually takes me sometime to actually put it on the laptop! I don’t know what happens as I sit in front of the screen…Common phenomenon, it seems like!(lolzz)

  4. I get all the ideas when i am trying to fall asleep. I keep thinking on all the things i could have blogged etc and sometimes that keeps me awake for hours. I can get up a start writing right away but then that would keep me awake for more hours rather than falling asleep.

  5. Whoa! All of you too?!!! πŸ™‚

    Inspiration from other bloggers – good idea Sraikh!

    Hey, who said your posts are boring Snippets? How dare they?!!

    πŸ™‚ Jira!

    Oh, I keep finding a lot of connections too Solilo – see another connection there!

    Agree Mithe!

    Haha – trust you to be so frank Ritu!

    πŸ™‚ Timepass!

    Oh, I could never meditate I think Swati – my mind is too restless…

    Same with me Enchanted, except that I never have a problem falling asleep – I continue with the thought process in my dreams then. πŸ™‚

  6. Ideas or no ideas, I can post only when I ‘feel like’ , which is well not very often 😦

    When you get those brilliant sparks ..make use’o’em girl. Maybe jot them down on a piece of paper ( like those good old college notes maybe?) as and when they come up.

    That way, we’ll have a new post to enjoy here everyday πŸ˜€

  7. no ideas to beat the syndrome… but u arent the only one who gets ideas at odd times.. i get mine while eating and traveling!! not only do i find ntersting topics.. i even think up of starting paras… and then when i actually get down to writing it, pooof! all gone!thats when i go around looking for subsitute topic…

  8. Happens to all of us – only the time and place is different. Mine come to me in dreams and I always have trouble remembering them when I wake up. In fact in one dream I even typed the post but when I checked the blog the next day It wasn’t there. πŸ™‚

  9. ah well! i am off to ivent a water proof laptop for ya! or hw about getting yourself one of those voice enabled ones! start talking from thw shower!

    thinking aloud will take on all new meaning! :p

    cheers!

  10. I come up with a zillion things to write about just as I am drifting into sleep. And I remember nothing by the time I wake up 😦

  11. First paras… you too Churning?!! πŸ˜‰

    Can you believe it – the exact same thing has happened to me too Usha! Only that I couldn’t remember what the post was about. 😦 But I got up excited to read all the comments and was shocked to find no new post at all!

    Yes, yes, please Abha!!!

    Oh D – this is getting exciting. Methinks there’s a huge market for a thought-recorder device out there! πŸ™‚

  12. Same thing for me too. Don’t worry, soon they will have waterproof laptops which attach to the shower doors. πŸ˜›

  13. hey..I’ve the same problem too! I have a dozen thoughts on what to write about, when I’m walking, talking to someone, showering, traveling, eating..but when I finally find sometime to jot them down, I don’t feel the same way as when the thought occured first.. :-O

  14. Great post. It’s a wonderful thing. The shower is great to free associate. Occupy yourself, soaping up, rinsing and repeating, relax, kinaesthetically engaged, closed off from the world. . . ideas basically flow from the tap.

    Me: πŸ˜€ True!

Leave a Reply

