Where my legs declare a strike on me!

It’s official. My legs and I are not friends anymore. This is how it happened. Our friends, S and A, and the husband and I went biking the Lehigh Gorge trail at Jim Thorpe, PA yesterday.

“25 miles of pure nature, including small waterfalls, and continuous views of the Lehigh River. Make sure to bring your camera, lunch, and plenty of water for this exciting journey!” – the trail description read.

jimthorpe

Sounds good, doesn’t it? Except that we sort of missed the 25 miles part, concentrating on the waterfalls and nature bit instead. And how I wish they had mentioned bringing along a signed, sealed contract with our legs rather than the camera – I promise not to declare a strike mid-way down the trail, I promise not to go to sleep in the middle of nowhere etc.

So there we were, starting out bright and early at around 3 PM. The shuttle service that took us to the top of the trail was very reassuring – you should be back in about 3 hours, it’s an easy downhill ride. Plus it’s almost summer, daylight is till 8 o’clock, we told ourselves. How late can we possibly get?

The first 5 miles were just as beautiful as we had imagined them to be. Pure unadulterated nature – a playful river on one side, cascading waterfalls every few minutes on the other, chirping birds, a cool breeze – heaven!

Except that the easy downhill trail we were promised never materialized! And then the legs decided to make themselves heard.

My legs (grumbling): We are being ignored, you take us for granted, we protest this shoddy treatment!

Me (slightly alarmed): Err, no, no, what are you talking about? I love you, truly!

My legs (angrily): So when was the last time you gave us some exercise? And now you want us to carry you 25 miles – no way!

Me (totally alarmed now): Please, let’s go home and discuss this, okay?

Right leg (fierce and determined): No! We are tired of your false promises. We demand a break now! I am going off to sleep – bye!

Left leg (after a while): Wait, I’m coming too. Bye, JnM!

So there we were, four tired souls and a pair of legs on strike, somewhere mid-way along the 25 mile trail and with twilight fast approaching. There was no cellphone reception, no helplines, not a soul in sight and no access to a motorable road or civilization except at the end of the trail!

So what happened next? Please don’t ask, I don’t want to think about it ever. If I am writing this post, we must have come home, right? Right!

P.S. God bless the park ranger who found us, 3 miles short of the trailhead, and gave us a ride to the parking lot. I would have gone down on my knees to thank her except for those stupid legs, remember?

12 responses to “Where my legs declare a strike on me!

  1. Whupsie!! I’m stuck inbetween saying ‘poor you’ and ‘poor legs’. The last time I took my cycle out,along with my legs even my cycle fought with me and I had to walk back some distance pushing the @$%&#^ thing.
    Once you are back on talking terms with your legs, pls put up some more photos of the lovely scenery…

    Me: Poor legs indeed… hmmph! 🙂

  2. I know how it is.

    Here is a nice virtual rub with some ayurvedic oil…. …

    A nice hot bath and a readymade cup of ginger tea appearing by magic…..

    and you will be OK in no time..:-)

    Me: Wowie! I feel good already! Seriously, it’s amazing what a good night’s sleep and a hot bath can do!

  3. I didn’t realize that when we were giving you pep speeches you were busy talking to your legs. :). Next time I will try to speak up to be heard.

    Me: Or you can try giving the pep talk to my legs instead – might work better!!! 😉

  4. I can relate to this in regards to our skiing incident long long back. Legs give way and we hardly get time to do our exercises daily. Glad you get a chance to go biking on those wonderful trails. We yet to do trekking – uncompleted dreams.

    Me: Oh, where do you live? You must go trekking, it’s far easier than cycling methinks!

  5. No way!!! How can my legs here in India behave the same way as yours. They must belong to the same union!

    Me: Ha! Possible – globalization of unions!!! 🙂

  6. Wow this could not have come at a better time. We are headed to the Poconos next weekend(Jim Thorpe to ne precise) and one of the days is reserved for biking. Can we just take the bikes and go on our own on shorter trails?

    Me: I’m sure you can. There a lot of smaller and equally beautiful trails too, we later heard. I wouldn’t really recommend the one we took – Lehigh Gorge – unless you are used to cycling – its gorgeous but… 🙂 We took our own cycles, shuttle was required for our trail and another one, I forget which, but most of the others are DIY I think… Checkout this site – http://bikejimthorpe.com/trails.htm

    Happy trails!

  7. Three miles short of Trail head is what..22 Miles? You guys biked 22 miles without training? God, that must’ve been an something 😀

    But, life mein you need to have such misadventures once a while..to tell the story to your grand kids some day, I guess? 🙂

    Hope you ( and your legs) are all good now!

    Me: Sigh! Yes – 22 miles, don’t remind me!!! 😦 Legs are good now, but I’m still scared of them! Very temperamental, they are!!! 🙂

  8. Yikes! Glad you guys found a ranger who was able to help you out. 🙂

    The trail does sound like it is very beautiful. If only it was shorter, huh?

    Me: Exactly! I am going to back someday and try the shorter 15 mile route. It’s gorgeous actually.

  9. My first time here. But your legs sort of sound familiar. Sigh. Must be cousins of mine, my legs I mean!

    Me: Leg-leg bhai-bhai?!! So you have any advice for me?
    Pssst… welcome here! 😀

  10. Hope you feel better now.
    Was expecting a long post on this but then the legs cut that short.

    Me: Yaaaay!!! Mampi is back! 🙂 *Hops, skips and jumps* It’s really good to see you here again after so long. Busy kya?

Leave a Reply

