Mothers need mothering too!

Baby has a cold. So when after weeks of sleeping through the night, he wakes up at a godforsaken hour, just as you are slipping away into the most satisfying sort of deep sleep, you aren’t really surprised.

‘Poor baby, he must be so uncomfortable!’, you think.

So you try and blow his nose, apply a soothing aromatic oil to his chest to ease the congestion, adjust the pillow to make him more comfortable and gently nurse him back to sleep.

Only to hear a loud bawl ten minutes later, just as you are drifting off to dreamland again.

So you try and blow his nose, adjust the pillow to make him more comfortable and nurse him back to sleep. Again. Only this time, you have to remind yourself to be gentle.

Only to hear the loud bawl in what seems like just two minutes later. And so on and on, till the wee hours of the morning.

‘Poor me, will I get some sleep tonight?’, you can’t help but wonder by now.

When soft loving voices magically appear by the bedside, warm loving hands pick up the baby and the most reassuring voice in the world asks you to go back to sleep, we’ll take care of baby, don’t you worry.

Mothers need mothering (and as in this case, fathering) sometimes too!

P.S. All you folks envying me for having parents around when baby is sick, say aye!

8 responses to “Mothers need mothering too!

  1. awww 😦 I hope Baby M gets well soon…and yes, you’re really lucky to have parents by your side πŸ™‚ Take care babe.

    Me: I am replying so late, sorry about that! Actually, he got better the next day itself. πŸ™‚

  2. I was lucky to have my grandparents( as they were living with us) take care of me more than my parents. I liked that pampering. I’m sure your baby must be enjoying this pampering… πŸ™‚

    Me: Hey, lucky you!!!

  3. Very lucky. I miss my parents when I sniff and sneeze myself.. so I can imagine what a relief it is to have them around when you have a baby πŸ™‚

    Me: Hehehe… I was like that myself before my own baby came along. Now he’s upstaged me! πŸ™‚

  4. Hi,
    I have been following your blog ever since I got pregnant! Dont remember how I stumbled on it – but I relate to so much of what you write. I have a request – please post more often if you can! I love to read what other people in a similar situation think or do.
    Also, some of your posts are password protected. Any chance I could read them as well?

    Me: Wow, that’s so sweet of you! You’ve really inspired me to post soon. Will try my best, I promise! About the password, I’ll email you.

  5. Yes, a new mother is lucky to have the support of her parents, when she is feeling sorry for herself! We are really blessed! And if there is a sister (the baby’s maa-si), so much the better!

    Me: I can imagine the maasi must be a big help as well… I see that in my mom’s relationship with her sister.

Leave a Reply

