55 Fiction

My first attempts at 55 Fiction – comments eagerly anticipated!

Renewal

She winced as he flung the catalog and walked away, slamming the door shut.

“Why try to fill the home when my heart feels so empty?”

Hours crept by, unnoticed. And then he walked in again, her favorite daffodils in hand. Her face lit up as their eyes met.

“Which color should the curtains be?”

Wicked!

“We made our plans months ago, don’t you remember?”

He was right. But how to cancel the dinner invite? She dialed M’s number, still unsure.

“I’m so sorry D, I can’t make it tomorrow…”

“No problem, next weekend?”

She struggled to hide her glee and sound understanding instead. What luck that M had spoken first!

Trust

“I’ll be right here, go in and have fun baby!”

Her heart swelled as he walked away. Soon, he was happily at play. Perhaps she could leave now?

She struggled to concentrate at work all day.

In the evening – “How was your day sweetheart? Didn’t you miss me?”

“But you were just outside Mama!”

P.S. I know – I am hopeless at doing suspense!

19 responses to “55 Fiction

  1. Well done! I like the first best.

    Me: Thanks! 🙂 You know most folks liked the last one, and it’s my theory that the really romantic ones liked the first! What say?

  2. Very nice…
    How exactly does this 55 Fiction work? I’d seen it on a couple of other blogs and could’nt follow what exactly needs to be done…

    Me: Check out the wiki page I linked to… you must try it too – it’s fun!

  3. What a coincidence. I am just trying my hand at it! Hopefully in a couple of days I should be able to do it!

    I liked the first one the best too 🙂

    Me: Quick, quick, we are waiting! 🙂

  4. I like the last one the best. Broke my heart at the baby’s trust!!

    The first one is sweeet. 55 words are amazingly enough to say so much, no?!!!

    Me: Yeah!!! And it was so much fun too! 😀

  5. I liked the concept. I liked all the three snippets. It requires great skill to put across the idea within a paragraph, leaving enough room for interpretation by the reader. You’ve made a great start!

    Looking forward to more posts like this.

    Me: Hey, thanks Amit! Let me see if I can do more…

  6. Good one.. that was very nice for your first attempt. You came up with 3. I struggled with 1. 😦

    BTW I liked the first one.

    Me: Haan yaar, I didn’t plan on 3 – just happened!!! 🙂

  7. Hey my first visit to your blog… I love ‘Wicked’ the best! I loved the concept…shall try soon!

    Me: Thanks Purva! Leave me a link when you try it, ok? 🙂

  8. Hi! I know I haven’t come by in AGES but I’ve been caught up with a few things… and well, I’m finally back to the blogging world. 🙂 I have moved to a wordpress blog though (ssindhuja.wordpress.com) – I see you still have me linked, so you can update the link. I will definitely add you to my blogroll once I set it up!

    Will be back to reading your posts regularly. Hope you’re doing well!

    Me: Yaaaay!!! You are back! 🙂

  9. I like the first one. Good job. And I did not know about 55 fiction, learnt something new today.

    Me: I didn’t know about it until recently too. Lots of bloggers were trying it out…

  10. Renewal is great. she is so like me. so so so like me. I live and die by his smile or lack of it.

    Trust-is shooooo shweeeet… so so sweet

    about your talent in writing the 55 thingy, yes you are capable of writing it, but go on writing more and more and you will perfect the art.

    Me: Thanks so much for the detailed feedback! Yes, practice toh chahiye… this was just spur of the moment stuff actually. Didn’t even think too much about it! Will try more sometime.

Leave a comment